atbaThe Auckland Theravada Buddhist Association (ATBA) is a multi-ethnic, non-profit organisation dedicated to preserving and practising the teachings of the Buddha (the Dhamma). Founded in 1980, it follows the Forest Monastic Tradition of Venerable Ajahn Chah. In Auckland the ATBA has established The Auckland Buddhist Vihara, situated at 29 Harris Road, Mt Wellington. This centre has a shrine room for meditation and public talks. There is also a two-storey house used for monastic residence, community gatherings, events and teaching children. In the back yard there is a stupa and a large Bodhi tree, symbols of the Buddha’s enlightenment. The ATBA has also established Vimutti Buddhist Monastery in the countryside south of Auckland. This is a residence for the monastic Sangha as well as anyone wishing to deepen their practice for periods of time. All teachings and services are offered freely in the spirit of generosity, and the ATBA relies entirely upon donations for its continuing existence.

bodhitreeAuckland Buddhist Vihara

There are weekly Dhamma talks with meditation and chanting on Sunday evenings at 7:30. On the fourth Sunday of each month at the Vihara there is an open day beginning at 10.00 am. This is an opportunity for connecting as a community of Dhamma friends. Gathering together on a regular basis helps to reinforce our commitment to living a moral and wise life. Everyone brings a plate for a shared meal.  The children’s school for Buddhist studies meets each Sunday afternoon the  during the school term. Children from the age of five to teenage are eligible to enrol, and all teaching is in English. For more information contact Benita (09) 571-2061.  The Vihara also hosts special celebrations on New Year’s Eve and Wesak to honour the Buddha’s birth, enlightenment and passing away.

View Larger Map

Mailing List Request

If you would like to receive our newsletter, teachings and be informed of activities sponsored by the Auckland Theravada Buddhist Association and Vimutti Buddhist Monastery, please use the forms on the Subscribe page.

The-Vihara-Stupa-(2)_cropATBA Membership

Would you like to support the ATBA by being a member? Contact us at to find out more.


In the spirit of mutual generosity, we do not charge for any of the teachings or services provided, and in turn the ATBA is entirely dependent on donations for its continued existence. If you are interested to learn how you could help, please see the Offerings page.

Committee Members

Pasqual Chandra Ananda (President), Bruce Glover (Vice President), Anoja Devendra (Secretary), Priscilla Dawson (Treasurer), Sumana Abeysekera, Edward Dawson, Gamini Ediriweera, Raja Gunesekera, Wi Nachapa Promson, Luckana Hyde, Murray Hyde, Harsha Devendra, Gae (Chutima) Salangsakul, K. G. Dayananda, Amali Fonseka.